Posted by: denmanrandonneur | November 21, 2008

The doors are on just in time

It’s the first real storm of winter.  The wind is howling and gusting up to gail force strength with driving rain coming down sideways.  But you know what? there was hardly a draft in the shop.  I could feel a little around where the dutch doors meet the other door, but it was minimal at best.  The doors still have to be tweeked, but the wood is starting to settle and I’ll get to it when I get the latch hardware which should be arriving soon.  I got it up to 16 degrees which is comfortable to work on one of the worst days.  Even with just vapor barrier over the 4 facing windows, which were feeling the brunt of the storm, I was standing in a building that I am proud of and can call my own.  The last couple of days I’ve been taking in the moment to feel good about what I’ve done this summer.  I’ve been running at a pretty good pace since the beginning of July and it really feels like I crested the peak and am now on the back side.

It’s now almost 9pm and I just got back from the shop.  I’ll probably go back up after posting this and clean up a bit.  I took some pictures today and will give you an overview of the shop.  

This afternoon I decided to get busy with the workbench area.  Things were everywhere and it’s now time to get things organized in the shop.  Tomorrow I’m going to start on some sort of tool holders.  I still don’t know what I’m going to do, but I have a few ideas.  Norie wants an easy to move around the shop toolbox that you can easily change the tools needed for whatever task at hand.  I’m thinking along the lines of glue bottles, tape, chisels, measuring device of some sort etc.  We’ll see.  I also want to move around some of the tools that I already hung since I’ve have had a chance to see how I want things in what places.  I’m sure it will change again in the future.  For the shelf above the bench, I used 2×4’s with a 3/4″ sheet of plywood to cover the top and screwed it into the wall studs.  It’s also supported by the driftwood pole on the right and screwed into the wall on the side.  The bottom studs are exposed so I put up a strip of plywood on the underside and came up with some cool cubby holes that quickly filled up.

Tomorrow looks like a pretty crappy day weather wise, so I’ll probably go riding on Sunday instead.  Peter said he’d ride on Sunday if the weather isn’t too bad and I’m sure a few of the other regulars that bail tomorrow will want to go out on Sunday.  There is usually a flurry of e-mails on Friday night but it’s been quiet tonight … everyone is probably thinking the same thing!

Jya ne

Leave a Reply

Categories

