Posted by: denmanrandonneur | November 30, 2008

the weekend’s over

I hope everyone had a good one.  I worked Friday driving the school bus and went over to some friends place for dinner.  It was nice because there were 3 Japanese people there and I got to practice my Japanese.  Unfortunately, I am starting to lose it.  I could understand most of the conversation, but my vocabulary and grammar were getting … creative.  

Saturday was cool, misty drizzling and perfect for riding.  I don’t know why, but I seem to ride better in the ugly weather.  My feet were wet, but not too cold.  I felt better than last week and have about 5 months before the Snow to Surf race.  I was talking with the guy that does the road bike section and we are tossing around the idea of switching this year.  He just got himself a new mtn. bike and I would love to give the road section a go.  I’ll keep ya updated on the progress this winter.  When I got home I was cold and wet, so wrapping up in some warm blankets and having a nap was in store.  I was tired yesterday evening and I’m still feeling it a little tonight, but suffering goes with cycling.

Today we hit the trim with 2 coats of Danish oil – another couple of coats of wipe on poly tomorrow morning and we can put them up tomorrow evening. Tai did a really great job of cleaning my bike, so he made $5 so that he can buy some Christmas presents – he was pretty stoked.  I took off the bottom of the dutch door and chiseled out a recess for the top hinge, pulling it up and in a little.  Worked like a charm, but I wish I had better chisels.  I got them on special for about $1.99 each and they don’t really hold an edge very well.  I also had to cut out a recess on the top part of the Z so that I could fit the door latch on.  I also cut back the ledge that goes on top so that there will be a little more room when the door is opened wide.  I also recessed the top hinge in the door jam on the big door to also pull it up and in.  Tonight I got a step closer and put up the inside door trim.

Tomorrow I’ll probably be working down at the bakery, so I won’t be up in the shop until later afternoon, early evening.  I’m hoping to get at least the outside trim up in the front so that I can get back to shingling.  I like shingling as it goes pretty fast and when it’s time to quit for the day, it looks like you did a lot.  Most of the easy stuff is already done, now comes the fitting and cutting pieces around the doors and windows. 

Here’s a few pictures from the weekend

Leave a Reply

Categories

