Posted by: denmanrandonneur | December 9, 2008

Shingles in the rain

Yesterday turned out to be pretty nice weather wise, so we took advantage and got the side shingled and got a good chunk of the back wall.  Before I started shingling, I started tinkering around with the door early and got the deadbolt on and tweeked.  The doors work beautifully and feel solid.  I’m happy with the way they turned out, although there is still more work that needs to be done before I can say I’m finished.  The speakeasy door still needs to be made and I it isn’t even on the radar at this point.

Today was the opposite of yesterday.  It was cold, windy and raining off and on.  Norie and I started moving around the scaffolding (for the last row of shingles needed to finish off the wall, below the ledger board), when my Dad came out.  I was thinking of calling the shingles off for the day and working inside, but standing around the scaffolding got us into shingling.  The wind got up to gail strength when we were out there and some of the smaller shingles were getting blown around.  My hands were cold and I was happy when we got the last row done and into the shop.  Take a look at the picture of the dog laying in front of the fire and then add a few more huddled around him with cups of hot coffee.

I took a break from the shop this afternoon and ordered a set of 6 Ashley Iles beveled edge bench chisels with Bubinga handles.  I’ve been looking at chisels for quite a while and had bid on a few sets on ebay over the past few weeks, but was always outbid.  Anyways, I broke down and ordered them.  Now I know that I can justify these and they will serve me well for a lifetime … but I had a hard time buying them for some reason … I guess it feels weird buying your own Christmas present.  I’ll give a full review and pictures when they arrive, hopefully before Xmas.  I got a few links sent to me today.  Here ya go!

A 20 year old girl playing bass with Jeff Beck in front of a big crowd.  I know that Jeff Beck is a legend and all, but it just sounds like he’s wanking a lot of the time.  The kid held her own up there on the stage.

Check out this guy on his bike – unbelieveable.  Not only can the guy ride, but check out the cool european buildings in the background.

It looks like I got a couple of links for sources for some nice cedar on Vancouver Island.  I’ll be following this up.  Still mulling over a few ideas for the kayak sawhorses/stands.

Tonight I cut some 3/4″ plywood for a toolbox for Tai.  I got the pieces cut and rabbited and will try to get some sanding and staining for inside done tomorrow.  When Tai gets home after school tomorrow we’ll glue and clamp it together. The door handle in the picture below is the one that I got at the Craft Faire and will be putting it on the outside of the door.   It looks like tomorrow will be better weather wise, so hopefully we’ll get to the shingles on the last wall with the windows…

Leave a Reply

Categories

