Posted by: denmanrandonneur | December 14, 2008

Snow days

It’s been a few days since I updated, so I’ll be brief bring this up to date.  On Friday I drove the school bus and it started snowing around lunch time.  It wasn’t too bad and it was nice to see the first snow of the winter.  In the evening we went to a school staff Christmas Party.  A great group of people and a good time for all.  Saturday was pretty busy as Norie had to make 3 orders of sushi’s for different parties around the island.  I bailed on riding (and I think everyone else did)  and spent most of the day in the shop.  I was working on Tai’s toolbox and again today.  I had to go down to the Community Hall to help set up for the Fire Department Christmas party at around 3pm.  This weekend there were a lot of parties around the island.  It started snowing around 5pm and when we hit the big hill at just after 6pm, it was just plain scary.  The hill was so slippery going down and Norie and I were white knuckled!

The DIVFD Christmas Party was a lot of fun and the food was amazing.  I guess there were about 60 people there and is was a festive occasion for the Chief to officially announce his upcoming retirement.  He’s been the Chief for the past 20 years and runs a great crew.  He gave out a few different things during his presentation, and everyone got something.  I was given a really nice knife with “Denman Island Vol. Fire Dept” on it.  Thanks John!  It’s one of those things that will get a lot of use, and taken care of.  For entertainment they hired a magician that was incredible.  His card tricks were mind boggling and the stage show was even better.  The act was really polished and professional and everyone had a great time.

When we left the party it was still snowing and about 4 inches on the ground.  We took Lacon Rd home, avoiding the big hill and it was a beautiful drive.  Everything looked so magical.  When we woke this morning there was about a foot of snow on the ground.  It took a while for the shop to warm up so we played outside and went for a walk. The kids had a blast and it was almost up the Ekou’s waist.  In the afternoon, I got more work done on Tai’s toolbox and got it stained and a coat of wipe on poly.  Tai picked the colours and I think it will look pretty good when it’s finished.  The box is 3/4″ ply stained and the tray Alder and Douglas Fir unstained. 

Here are a few links that I came across during the last few days.  I found Liquid Rhythm Kayaking through a link I found looking through this blog somehow generated.  Anyways, a good kayak/outdoor blog.  Tuktu Paddles makes Greenland style kayak paddles and is a good site if you like this kind of thing.  I personally think that they are bit expensive, but that’s just me.  Nice paddles none the less.  Dubside’s website from “This is the Sea” series kayaking video fame.  I’ve seen him featured in the video and the guy lives and breathes Greenland style “Commando” kayaking.  Cool site he has put together.    Wavelength magazine has put there January 2009 edition online.  I really like this magazine and am happy that they distribute it freely, although I would pay for this magazine as it focuses a lot on this area.  It’s a PDF file and you can either view it in your browser or download it to your computer.  A site that I haven’t been to in quite a while is Duluth Pack.  A friend is from Duluth and turned me on to them about 5 or 6 years ago.  Never ordered anything from them, but I would definitely like to some day.    There are a few other sites that I will pass along at a later date, but here are some pictures…

Leave a Reply

Categories

