Posted by: denmanrandonneur | January 10, 2009

Bead & Cove

Today I got most of the strips routed with bead and coves.  It took about 5 hours including setups to get them finished and we were going at a good, steady pace.  I was feeding while my dad was supporting the strip behind me and Norie was on the outfeed end.  We had a good system going and were averaging about 2 strips per minute.  

The strips were about 5/16″ thick (closer to 1/4″ than 5/16th”) and the bead and cove were 1/4″, so we had to center it perfectly so that there was just a hair on either side.  I was happy with how they came out.  It was interesting to see that the Yellow Cedar clogged up the dust collection port much faster than the Red Cedar.  My router table only has a 2 1/2″ port and the hose was 4″.  I had a 2 1/2″ > 4″ converter, but it was too small so I had to come up with something that would work.  My dad got some saran wrap and and I got the duct tape and we were in action.  It actually worked really well and I was able to pull away most of the chips from the router bit and got a clean cut.  I used 2 featherboards ~ one to keep the strip against the fence and another to keep it on the bed.  I used 2 clamps on each and they didn’t move a bit during the whole operation.  Not the prettiest setup, but it worked.  I bought the Craftsmen router table with router about a year ago at a garage sale in Union Bay and it has served me well.

Tomorrow I’ll get working on the stations and strongback and see how far I get along with them…

At the Fire Department practice on Thursday night one of the guys said that he saw my blog through the Bear Mountain Kayaks website and told me that he’s building a cedar-strip canoe.  He has also built a double kayak so I hope get a chance to see them soon.

Norie worked Thursday and Friday making Oregano oil and has to work again on Monday.  This meant that I had to look after Ekou both days and I’m tired.  It’s going to be an early night tonight.

Responses

  1. Nice project, I can appreciate how rewarding the effort it takes to build a strip canoe or kayak proves to be. Nothing like it as a hobby, and to become obsorbed with the craft for hours on end.
    I’ve built a canoe and am just completing the instalation of gunnels and decks. Nice job on story that’s posted to your website. RW


Leave a Reply

Categories

