Posted by: denmanrandonneur | April 27, 2009

Shaping the cockpit coaming

I didn’t get as much as I had hoped done this weekend.  The fire department had their annual auction and it was a busy weekend picking up stuff and getting things organized for today.  On top of that we had a callout yesterday afternoon when most of the crew were in the Community Hall setting up.  A quick response and lots of hands on the scene.  I think I have strep throat as I’ve lost my voice and coughing.  I was pretty good most of the winter and then this landed on me.

Last night we cut down the coaming with a coping saw and got it ready for the rasps and files.  Norie had talked about doing this so when the time came Norie did a good job bringing it down.  After finishing, we hung the offcut ring on the wall and dated it.  Don’t know why, but it seemed like a good thing to do at the time.

Today was the auction and I picked up a nice Lee Valley outfeed roller/stand for the table saw for a price that I thought was more than fare.  We also picked up an enameled  cast iron bathtub with claw feet and a few other little goodies.  Norie has been wanting one since we moved to Canada and this was the one that caught her eye.  Paid a bit more that I had hoped, but still an amazing deal by any means.  A lot of people came out to support the auction and left with something under their arm or back of their pickup.  There was a SOF kayak frame there that I bid on, but gave up at $90.  The woman that I was bidding against got it for $95 ~ which is a good price for it, but more than I wanted to pay.  The whole thing needed to be sanded, some braces replaced and a lot of glue applied.  It would have been a nice summer project, but one I decided to pass on.

After going out paddling on Tuesday I’ve since decided to put the canoe on hold that I was originally going to build next and do a tandem kayak starting early this fall.  There is so much out there to explore and can’t believe how fortunate I am to have this as my backyard.  I want my kids to grow up going on kayak camping trips and spending time with them out in the boats.  I imagine that I’ll have to build them their own down the road … twist my arm 😉

Tonight I got out the rasp and files and started shaping the cockpit.  I really like this part of the build as it comes down to you controlling the tools and it feels honest.  The kayak is far from perfect, but I am really pleased at how it is shaping up.  I’ve learned a lot about building a cedar strip kayak and woodworking and have used countless tools and techniques/tricks and tips to get where I am tonight.  I’ll be going to bed shortly with a smile.

Here are some pictures to bring you up to date…

Leave a Reply

Categories

