Posted by: denmanrandonneur | May 4, 2009

Hatches

It’s hard to believe that over 10,000 people have stopped by to check out the build.  When I first started this blog it was mainly for friends and family that are scattered around the world.  I never thought that there would be this much interest in a cedar strip kayak.  Please don’t hesitate to drop me a few lines and let me know what you think.  I also thought it would be appropriate to put one of my own pictures up at the top of the page.  I was using an image that I really liked that I found on the internet somewhere.  Whoever took the picture, thank you very much!  I mentioned this way back in November or so …

On to the kayak… Over the weekend I got around to getting the coaming band glued and sanded and finally fiberglassed.  I was surprised how long it took to do just that small area, but it turned out nicely.  I put a couple of fill coats on to hide the weave than sanded it.  I still have to sand the coaming area under the band.  I really like the contrasting colours of the Ash and Cherry used for the coaming rim.

Today I got onto the hatches.  I masked the area on both sides where the hatches would be cut out with green tape (I love this stuff).  I used a 1/16th inch drill bit to get a spot where I could get the jigsaw blade in.  I went really slow and was happy with the outcome.  For some reason this has been the process that has worried me the most right from the beginning.  I think it had to do with not knowing what kind of system I would use to secure the hatches.  I took it slowly and went through the steps and it looks like it coming out fine.  I used some 1/4″ mahogany plywood for the spacer band and cut it in 2 pieces.  Glued it up and clamped it and went for dinner.  After dinner I took off the clamps, and clamped the front hatch ( don’t have enough clamps to do it all at once).  After the front spacer band was glued and clamped around the hatch I sanded the rear hatch and spacer band flush.  That is where I left it tonight.  Tomorrow I will put on the lip bands and sand more.

I am hoping that I’ll be able to bond the hull and deck together sometime this week!  This weekend is going to be busy so I don’t imagine that I’ll have too much time to work on the kayak with Paddlefest in Ladysmith and the Denman Island Home and Garden Tour going on.  I’ll keep you updated.

Responses

  1. Hi John,

    Thanks for all the helpful advice and tide and weather reports you gave us for the weekend. Despite the rain we had a great weekend and a nice paddle. Lots of wildlife out and about. Even saw some porpoises. You definitely should check out the Mt. Geoffrey Bluff when you have some time. Great views of Denman and Hornby. The Cliff trail is the best. Great weekend. Your kayak looks great. I’m sure Jarrod will be excited to check it out later.

    Thanks again,

    Heather


Leave a Reply

Categories

