Posted by: denmanrandonneur | January 1, 2010

More self reliance in 2010 is the mantra …

The rain and wind were out the last night of the year and are still partying well into the morning.  Thinking back over the past few days a lot of good things have happened this year (2009).  The pace was comfortable with a few hectic moments scattered here and there to keep things interesting.  At this time last year I was beginning to rip the strips for the kayak, and now I’ve built it and have had it out on the water a good 25 times, with a 3 day trip to Cortes Island.  Tai played his first “concert” on the mandolin and is now in grade 2.  Along with everything that life throws at a mother, Norie keeps on keeping on.  Ekou started pre-school this year and I’ve had a lot of good times with him hanging out, hiking, “working” in the shop and a few trips into town.  2009 was a good year for the McGillivray’s and hope that 2010 is as bright.

Billy, Hiromi and their son, Nico, came up from Oregon to spend Christmas with us.  Great friends that I met in Japan and continues to this day.  They were here about 2.5 years ago (before Niko), and it felt like we saw each other last week.  Good things are happening in their life and are hoping to move up here in the future.  Thanks guys for coming, you are always welcome here!

Here are the pictures since I last posted some.  Lots of ground covered as it was a busy month here on Denman Island.

Looking through the pictures, I noticed we did a lot of eating the holiday season.  Can’t get enough of those homemade desserts!

I’ve been listening to Bap Kennedy and Tony Rice’s “Church Street Blues” the last few days and can’t get enough.  Check them out if you want to hear some good acoustic music. 2 great movies I’ve seen recently are Avatar and Julie and Julia.  We saw Avatar in the theatre a couple of days ago and it was a visual treat to see on the big screen.  We watched Julie and Julia last night and laughed our asses off.  It’s going to be a classic for sure, and it doesn’t hurt that Norie is also a cooking freak.  Well worth the watch if you like food and cooking.

So what’s in store for 2010 . . . ?

Canoe. I’m hoping to be able to start it around the end of January/beginning of February.  Really looking forward to this and it will be a lot of work and time spent in the shop.

First Responder Course. I’ll be taking the First Responder Course through the fire department around the beginning of February.

Snow to Surf Race. I’ll be doing the mountain bike leg again this year with a new team of younger guys on Denman Island.  The race is in April and is a good motivator for me to get out and ride.

Guitar and mandolin. I hope to learn a few more tunes on both instruments this year and try to play everyday.

More self reliant. This year I want to become more self reliant and plant a bigger garden than last year.  With just finishing touches left on the shop (other than putting up the wood for the inside ceiling), I hope to be able to spend more time in the garden this year.  We turned off the TV at the beginning of the school year in September, and without the TV on, there is time for so many other things to do.  I also want to start riding my bike more around the island for chores, cutting down on my driving time and impact.  More time for self reflection.

Get out on the water. Going to try and learn how to roll this summer and explore more of this area.  I want to get over to Deep Bay, across from Repulse point (where Albert and Rollande live) and find a hamburger stand at the marina that I keep hearing about.  With the canoe, I’m thinking of fishing on Chickadee Lake.  I’d also like to take another kayaking course this spring that will work towards my guide license some day.  Who knows, I might even finish the greenland style kayak paddle that I started and look into building a couple of canoe paddles.

That should keep me busy for a while …

All the best in the new year, and decade, and drop me a line or link to where I can hear what’s happening in your life.

Love John, Norie, Tai & Ekou

Leave a Reply

Categories

