Posted by: denmanrandonneur | December 20, 2008

It’s snowing again!

Thursday proved to be a day of shoveling.  When it was all said and done, there were 24 inches (60cms) of fresh snow on the ground.  I shoveled out the back driveway, and needed a push once on got onto Beaver Dr.  This is about 10 feet from my driveway.  Luckily someone had gone before and once I got going I could make it to East Rd.  The main loop of the island had been plowed and the big hill was in pretty good condition.  I had to go to the post office to pick up a parcel from Santa via the Craftsmen Gallery, so that was the reason why I even went out.  I couldn’t pick up enough speed when turning onto Beaver Dr. on the way home and got stuck again. At least I was close to home and could muster up some troops to help dig me out.  Since I couldn’t get up Beaver Dr. I parked in the East Rd driveway, which meant I had to shovel it first.  I was tired at the end of the day, but it felt good.  After snowing so hard on Wednesday, we had 2 beautiful days to clean up and enjoy afterwards.

Yesterday I drove the school bus and it went well considering it was the last day before the Christmas break.  The roads still have snow on them, put at least the main roads were plowed.  This morning I went over to a friends place and used his jointer to get a good edge on the walnut and mahogany and talk shop.  The bikes were sitting idle this morning and I bet I wasn’t the only one wishing they could get out for a ride.  In the afternoon Tai and I went down to help put up the Christmas tree downtown with some members of the fire department.  It took about an hour and then I was into the shop.  

I decided that I’m going to make a general use “day” toolbox for my Dad that can be carried around the property easily so if you are working away from the shop, you can take the tools you need with you.  I imagine that it will probably see some gardening duties and along with everything else.  I wanted to make something that can be used rather than  used for just storing tools.  It’s going to be made with walnut and mahogany with a birch dowel for a handle.  I will post pictures of it soon.  Meanwhile Norie has been busy with sushi orders and making a couple of Christmas wreaths along with everything else she does.

This link was sent to me via KayakKev’s Blog.  Here are pictures of the finished cedar strip.  I think I found his site through a link on here but I don’t know if I contacted him or not.  Anyways, I got an e-mail with the link and thought I would share the pictures of a beautiful boat.

I got the truck rack pretty much finished, but I will probably add a couple of boards to make it a bit more stable.  Pics will come soon.

Here are some pics to bring you up to date.  It’s snowing again and we are expecting another 20-40cms tonight/tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

Categories

