Posted by: denmanrandonneur | January 7, 2009

The strongback/spine is built and ready for stations

I had some issues with the glue not sticking all that great when I glued the paper to the stations … the paper was coming unglued around the edges so I applied some contact cement around the edges to hold it down neatly. Yesterday and today I have been working on the spine/strongback and it is now ready for the stations. There is a spot in the middle that is a little off (I can just see light between the string and wood), but I figure I can straighten it out once it is clamped to the sawhorses. Actually, I am pretty pleased that it came out as straight as it did and am not too worried about it.  The strongback/spine is 2×5 and is 15’3″ long and is built with 3/4″ plywood.  I had some problems at the stern end as I took off a little more than I wanted and had to fit a shim in to bring the strongback/spine up to spec.

I tried sliding on a couple of the stations and and they were pretty tight. I am happy with this as I can always sand down the insides a little to make them fit – the last thing I wanted was a sloppy fit. I still have to mark out the positions where they go and cut some pieces of wood for the station supports … 

I already have the strips cut but still need to route the bead and coves on them. I’m thinking that I will probably cut the beads first as I’ve heard that the coves can be a bit delicate around the edges.  I also want to put some tuck tape around the edges of the stations as I heard that glue doesn’t really stick to it and it saves a lot of hassles when taking the hull and deck off the stations.

Tomorrow I have to take Ekou to the doctor for some vacination shot and will be going to the fire department in the evening, so I don’t know how much work I’ll get done on the kayak tomorrow as I’ll also be looking after Ekou for most of the day.  The weather here has been warmer and most of the snow is pretty much gone except in the places that it has been piled up.  Here are a few pictures to bring you up to speed ~ not all that exciting but it took me longer than what it looks like I’ve done.  I forgot to take a picture with the tapered ends and will post one next time.

Leave a Reply

Categories

